Auldington Hotel offers true boutique Launceston hotel accommodation.
What was once Launceston's Presentation Sister’s Convent, established in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful 4.5 star, AAA rated hotel.
Operations of the convent ceased in 2003, with only 2 nuns, both aged in their nineties, left to manage the three story building. It was a huge task to say the least! In the early 2000’s, both ladies were moved on by the Catholic Church to something more practical. Surprisingly, and somewhat unusually, the Catholic Church auctioned off the property.
The property was purchased by local couple, Mr and Mrs Bowman, who quickly set about renovating the interior to convert the building into a hotel. Retaining its striking heritage architecture, its wonderful central staircase and numerous historic features, the spaces within its walls were tastefully refurbished to create modern, luxurious rooms, all with private ensuite bathrooms. Once renovations were complete, the opening of the 18-room Auldington Hotel on 26th December 2005 marked a new era for this beautiful heritage building.
Changing hands again in 2014, Auldington Hotel's new owner James Marshall is passionate about his guest’s comfort and continuing the tradition of offering a truly unique and satisfying accommodation experience in Launceston, Tasmania.
© Auber Hotels Pty Ltd ABN 27 166 763 588. All rights reserved